Today

So I start a blog about grace, and eventually (because it hasn’t been around long enough yet) I wanted to talk about offering grace to the outsiders, to those curved folks who the straight-and-narrow churchy people sometimes try to straighten out.

Yet today, I can’t. I don’t want to offer grace. I don’t want to offer mercy. I can’t even pray for God to have mercy on James Holmes, the man who went into a theater very close to my home and shot 71 people at the midnight showing of Batman: The Dark Knight Rises, killing 12 people. Including a six-year-old child. My God.

The last thing I want for him is mercy. Grace is far from my mind.

And in that, perhaps I can only say once again, “God have mercy on me, a sinner.”

My prayers are with the families.

3 thoughts on “Today

  1. Having grace or mercy on a monster isn’t easy. Doing that requires that we completely come out of ourselves, view ourselves and seek the monster that resides in each of us, jerk him to the surface and have mercy on him for all the bad he has brought into our lives. I can’t do that, I want to be the cop who found him and empty my weapon into his body.

Leave a Reply

